20th Annual Powder Awards Recognize Top Male and Female Athletes

Ryan Nadiak | | Industry NewsIndustry News
Powder Awards
The 20th Annual Powder Awards, one of the “biggest nights in skiing”. Credit: TGR

The 20th annual Powder Awards winners were announced over the weekend in Aspen, Colorado. The competition was high after last year’s incredible season and multiple top-notch personal and collective films were released over the past few months.

Movie of the year went to Eric Pollard and Nimbus Independent’s film, Drawn From Here, the best female performance was awarded to Michelle Parker and best male performance went to Sam Kuch. Upon receiving their awards, Eric Pollard spoke of the influence of ski cinematography in the sport and Michelle Parker took the opportunity to talk about the impending threat of climate change. Sam Kuch, being relatively new to professional ski scene, took the spotlight with his incredible segment in Matchstick Productions film, Return to Send’er, and was beyond stoked to take home the award.

Powder Awards
Michelle Parker accepts the Best Female Performance Award and speaks about climate change. Photo Credit: David Reddick | POWDER Magazine

 “To everyone in this room, the outdoors industry is bigger than fossil fuels and pharmaceuticals,” Michelle Parker said. “Stand up, 2020 is a big year. If you don’t use your voice no one will hear you.”

Another big highlight of the night was the substantial donation to the High Fives Foundation after Darcy Bacha’s Photo of the Year, highlighting Sammy Carlson, sold at auction for $6,000. Sammy Carlson and his film crew, CK9 Studios, also took home the Best Cinematography award with their film, Over Time.

The Powder Awards have been one of the “biggest nights in skiing” for the last 20 years. To read the full article directly from POWDER visit their website and get a glimpse of the eventful night.

Powder Awards
Elyse Saugstad accepting the 2nd place award in the Women’s Powder Poll. Photo Credit: David Reddick | POWDER Magazine

The Complete List of Award Winners

Best Line: Karl Fostvedt, Return To Send’er, Matchstick Productions
Best Cinematography: Over Time, CK9 Studios & Sammy Carlson
Women’s Powder Poll 1st Place: Angel Collinson
Women’s Powder Poll 2nd Place: Elyse Saugstad
Women’s Powder Poll 3rd Place: Michelle Parker
Best Air: Tom Wallisch, Cruise Control, Good Company
Photo of the Year: Darcy Bacha and Sammy Carlson
Best Jib: Keegan Kilbride, Romance, Level 1 Productions
Breakthrough Performer: Lucas Wachs
Best Post-Production: Drawn From Here, Nimbus Independent, Eric Pollard
Men’s Powder Poll 1st Place: Cody Townsend
Men’s Powder Poll 2nd Place: Chris Benchetler
Men’s Powder Poll 3rd Place: Tanner Hall
Best Short: Nuance, Brady Perron and Phil Casabon
Best Powder: Stan Rey, Josh Daiek, Alexi Godbout, Barclay DesJardins; The 7 Stages of Blank, Blank Collective Films
Best Documentary: Lhotse, Field Day Studio
Best Female Performance: Michelle Parker, Originate
Best Male Performance: Sam Kuch, Return to Send’er, Matchstick Productions
Movie of the Year: Drawn From Here, Nimbus Independent, Eric Pollard

Related Articles

Got an opinion? Let us know...