FIS Alpine World Cup Finals Calendar in Soldeu, Andorra — Who to Watch When

Julia Schneemann | | Industry NewsIndustry News
World Cup Finals
The FIS Alpine World Cup Finals are being held in Soldeu, Andorra, from March 13-19, 2023. | Picture: Audi FIS Ski World Cup Finals Website

This year, the last event of the FIS Alpine World Cup season is the World Cup Finals, held in Soldeu, Andorra. Andorra is a tiny principality between France and Spain, situated in the southern peaks of the Pyrenees mountains.

Only the best 25 skiers of each discipline are invited, as well as the winner of the Junior World Championships. In addition, any skier with more than 500 FIS points can choose to attend any race they wish, which would enable the top 12 ranked women, likes Shiffrin, Gut-Behrami, Brignone, or Goggia, and the top 9 ranked men, like Odermatt, Kilde or Pinturault, to ski in any discipline they wish.

The race calendar for the following five days has the speed events first, followed by the tech disciplines:

March 15, 2023
Men’s Downhill
Women’s Downhill

March 16, 2023
Men’s Super-G
Women’s Super-G

March 17, 2023
Mixed Team Parallel

March 18, 2023
Men’s Giant Slalom
Women’s Slalom

March 19, 2023
Men’s Slalom
Women’s Giant Slalom

Travis Ganaong
It will be Travis Ganong’s last World Cup race in Soldeu, Andorra. | Picture: Atomic Instagram Page

The US Ski Alpine Team has five women and five men who qualified under the rules mentioned above, while Alpine Canada has four women and five men.

Team USA:

  • Mikaela Shiffrin (DH, SG, GS, S)
  • Breezy Johnson (DH)
  • Paula Moltzan (GS, S)
  • Isabella Wright (DH)
  • Nina O’Brien (GS)
  • Travis Ganong (DH)
  • River Radamus (GS)
  • Ryan Cochran-Siegle (DH, SG)
  • Jared Goldberg (DH)
  • Tommy Ford (GS)

Team Canada:

  • Amelia Smart (S)
  • Ali Nullmeyer (S)
  • Laurence St Germain (S)
  • Valerie Grenier (GS)
  • Erik Read (GS)
  • Jeffrey Read (SG)
  • James Crawford (DH, SG)
  • Brody Seger (SG)
  • Alexander Cameron (DH)
(Note: DH = Downhill, SG = Super-G, GS = Giant Slalom, S = Slalom)

The end-of-season crystal globes will also be handed out in Soldeu, Andorra. Many crystal globe winners are already determined, but some results can still possibly change. Only the top 15 finishers score World Cup points at the finals.

Related Articles

Got an opinion? Let us know...